Weekly Menu of a Working Mum

I love planning my family meals for the week, and as a working wife and mother it’s kind of essential, otherwise I don’t start thinking about what to eat and cook until around 7.30pm by which time it’s just too late – I start picking at everything!

I hope you get a real flavour (excuse the pun!) of the types of food and meals we eat on a regular basis, what my family favourites are, and most importantly great meals that can be achieved mid-week even when working and looking after the family.

I’m also a great believer in minimising waste, not only to benefit the purse strings but also to make myself feel better that I’m not contributing to the increasing food that’s being binned on a weekly basis.  When I do have bin something that’s gone off I feel quite disappointed in myself for not making use of it earlier or freezing it.  Actually this is the reason I recently did banana muffins!

This weeks menu:

Monday – Slow cooked gammon joint, with roast potatoes, carrots & green beans*
Tuesday – Chicken Casserole*
Wednesday –  Pasta carbonara
Thursday – Slow cooked pork shanks served with roasted vegetables & mash*
Friday – Chorizo & pea risotto

* meals using the slow cooker

Buy

